What You Need to Know About Domestic Violence Arrest in Maryland

Maryland Domestic Violence Arrest

It can be unnerving and frustrating to be arrested for domestic violence in Maryland, particularly when you are not expecting someone that you know to allege these charges against you.

How you handle this situation is critically important. It is vital that you reach out to an experienced Maryland criminal defense attorney as soon as possible. This may be the only way to protect your rights and help you going forward.

If you have received a protection order against you, it is imperative that you comply with the terms of the protection order as you could make your existing domestic violence charges situation get even worse. Read on to learn more about what you should expect when accused of domestic violence in Maryland.

Certain crimes that happen between household and family members are classified as domestic abuse or domestic violence in Maryland. The following crimes in the state of Maryland are classified as domestic violence in the event that they occur between household or family members:

  • Stalking
  • False imprisonment
  • Assault
  • Causing serious bodily harm
  • Causing the victim to feel in fear of imminent bodily harm
  • Sex and rape crimes
  • Abuse of a vulnerable adult
  • Child abuse

Family members do not include only those related by blood or marriage. This includes current and former spouses, people who live together, children who live together, people who have children together, stepparents, parents, and other households members. If an alleged situation involves people like this, the officer may arrest someone who is suspected of domestic violence.

Try to stay calm if you find yourself arrested for domestic violence. When emotions run high, the propensity for the situation to be perceived as domestic violence is already there from the officer’s perspective. Take a moment to stay calm yourself so that you can avoid the situation escalating unnecessarily.

If you are arrested, exercise your right to remain silent and wait until you have the opportunity to talk directly with your attorney. You’ll want to know the exact charges you’re facing and the road ahead, too.

What You Should Know About TPOs

A temporary protective order is given to someone who has reason to fear for their safety, and crimes that constitute domestic abuse usually empower the judge with a great deal of discretion in deciding how much time behind bars someone will spend after being convicted of domestic violence.

The judge will always consider the various facts of your individual case before deciding sentencing, including the defendant’s prior record, the facts of the case, the recommendation of the State, and the wishes of the victim.

In the event that you have been accused of violating a protective order, this is a misdemeanor that can carry fines of up to $1000 and up to 90 days in jail.

Second and subsequent offenses are punishable by up to a year in jail and fines of up to $2500. It can also be classified as contempt of court if you violate a final or temporary protective order, punishable by a fine or imprisonment.

Getting Help When Accused of Domestic Violence

Being accused of domestic violence can have a significant impact on your reputation in the community. How you choose to respond to this allegation is important. An experienced criminal defense lawyer can investigate the facts of your case and advise you about next steps.

Only a knowledgeable defense attorney should be retained in this unique situation. You need a lawyer who is committed to investigating all possible options for resolution.

In the event that a family argument has gotten heated and someone has taken the next step to allege domestic violence against you, you need to remain calm and collected in your response by hiring an experienced criminal defense lawyer.

Consult with a Maryland Criminal Defense Attorney Today

Your rights are on the line and your future is worth protecting with the help of an experienced Maryland criminal defense lawyer. Do not hesitate to reach out for help as a lawyer can step in immediately to help determine your next steps. You should not talk to the police if you have been accused of violating a protective order or if you have domestic violence charges pending against you.

Can the police search my house without a warrant? Learn more about it: https://lawofficeofleongeller.com/blog/can-police-search-house-without-warrant/